Three generations of professional claims expertise

1918-1960 Paul Gielisch

As an employee of  B. Glauerdt underwriting agency in Hamburg, Paul Gielisch receives an assignment in 1917 to work in Düsseldorf, where he applies with the local chamber of commerce to be sworn as an average adjuster. The respective certificate of appointment is issued on 16 January 1918. At the same time, Paul Gielisch is appointed by Verein Hamburger Assecuradeure on 15 January 1918 as their average agent for Düsseldorf.


His specialist expertise and professional experience quickly earn him a reputation in the industry, and in the course of the same year, he sets up his own office. Apart from working as an average agent, Paul Gielisch gets actively involved in clearing the river Rhine of war debris. He rallies a group of volunteers to remove war debris from the navigation channel, using his own ship, the  M/V 'P. Gielisch Düsseldorf'.
Over the following years, he is appointed as average agent/adjuster for Düsseldorf by other insurance companies:

  • 25/09/1922:  La Générale Société Anonyme d’Assurances à Berne
  • 21/12/1925:  Schweizerische National-Versicherungsgesellschaft
  • 21/01/1929:  Verein Bremer See-Versicherungs-Gesellschaften
  • 30/06/1937:  Basler Transport-Versicherungsgesellschaft

Continuing to expand his network of business contacts, Paul Gielisch successfully steers his newly founded company through a period marked by economic hardship. By the end of the 1930s, Paul Gielisch has built a reputation for providing reliable and competent claims handling services to the insurance industry.


Throughout the second world war, his business activities continue undisturbed by the Nazi regime. He becomes a highly sought-after expert in the handling of losses involving goods in transit by river, road, or rail. He conducts cause investigations and arranges salvage sales. He also intervenes after collisions of vessels on the river Rhine, organising recovery operations and issuing general average statements and damage appraisal reports.


Being an avowed art lover, Paul Gielisch also handles claims involving damage to fine art, starting a family tradition that would later be successfully continued by his son and grandson.


Paul Gielisch has three children. In 1960, he passes the management of his company to his youngest son, Carl. At that time, the company had less than five employees.

1960-1990: Carl Gielisch

Even before completing his university studies in law and mechanical engineering, Carl Gielisch helps out in his father's company, learning the business from the bottom up. On 14 December 1959, he is officially appointed and sworn as an average adjuster by the Chamber of Industry and Commerce.


On 1 January 1961, Carl Gielisch is appointed by Comité Central des Assureurs Maritimes de France as their average agent. His appointment as average agent for Verein Hamburger Assecuradeure follows on 15 August 1963.


Carl Gielisch increases the number of employees working at the headquarters in Düsseldorf. He takes on three apprentices, including Hans Riedel and Willi Fleischhauer, who would remain with the company for over 50 years, building extraordinary careers in adjusting marine and hull claims. Willi Fleischhauer expands the activities of the hull claims department. It is thanks to his commitment that our hull claims specialists today are appointed to handle marine losses across all navigable rivers and canals in Western and Eastern Europe.


The company's first branch office is opened in Stuttgart in 1964. Branch offices in Frankfurt am Main and Cologne follow in 1969. In 1977, another branch office is opened in Munich.
On 1 August 1983, C. Gielisch GmbH is appointed as average agent for Düsseldorf by Verein Bremer Seeversicherer e.V.  In August the following year, the company is appointed as average agent by Comisariado Español Maritimo, S.A. in Madrid.


In addition to his activities as an average adjuster, Carl Gielisch pursues his keen interest in art, starting his own art collection. This earns him appointments to assess marine claims involving damaged artwork. As he gains in-depth knowledge in the field, he intensifies his activities as a fine art claims specialist. With his network of contacts in the art scene, Carl Gielisch gets appointed by major museums and art collectors, building an international reputation for fine art claims expertise, while the handling of hull and marine claims remains the company's core segment.

Carl Gielisch continuously expands his contacts beyond Germany, especially to Scandinavia, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, and England.


In April 1990, Carl Gielisch dies at the age of 63.

 

 

Since 1990: Claus Gielisch

At the age of 32, Carl Gielisch's son Claus takes over management of the company. Having completed his law degree, he has already familiarised himself with the business operations working as deputy manager of the company's branch office in Munich during his father's lifetime. In 1991, Claus Gielisch is officially sworn as an average adjuster.


Following in his father's footsteps, Claus Gielisch works as a fine arts adjuster on an international level. In 2008, he is officially appointed and sworn as a fine arts specialist by the Düsseldorf Chamber of Industry and Commerce. In 2015, his appointment is renewed for another five years. With the employment of another fine arts adjuster in 1996, the company expands its activities in the fine art claims segment. 

 

A longstanding tradition of average adjusting expertise

For many years, the individual offices of C. Gielisch GmbH have received appointments as average agents both in Germany and abroad. Appointments with the following clients have been regularly renewed and continue to exist to the present day:

 

  • American Institute of Marine Underwriters (AIMU)
  • Comité d’Etudes et de Services des Assureurs Maritimes et Transports (CESAM)
  • Comisariado Español Maritimo (COMISMAR)
  • Verein Hanseatischer Transportversicherer e.V. Hamburg-Bremen (VHT)

An expanding network of branch offices

After the fall of the inner German border, Claus Gielisch expands eastward. In 1990/91, offices are opened in Berlin, Leipzig, Budapest, Nuremberg, Dresden, Almaty, and Warsaw. In 1997, an office is opened in Hamburg. Under the leadership of Claus Gielisch, further offices are opened in Bratislava, Saarbrücken, Gera, Magdeburg, Münster, and Hanover between 2003 and 2011. In 2015, an office is opened in Bremen, end of 2016 an additional office is opened in Offenburg. Today, C. Gielisch GmbH operates in 15 locations across Germany. While its international offices in Almaty, Bratislava, and Warsaw have meanwhile been closed, operation of its offices in Wroclaw and Budapest continues.

 

 

Conquering new business segments

Into the mid 1980s, C. Gielisch GmbH concentrates on its core business in the hull, P&I, and marine lines. Thanks to excellent contacts with the English market, instructions to investigate liability and property claims in Germany start coming in from clients in England in the early 1990s. This leads to first contacts being made with German clients in this line of business. From this starting point, the company steadily expands its activities in the liability and property lines, which by the mid 1990s would become one of the main pillars of the business.

At the same time, the new 'film/TV/media and event' division is set up, in response to demand from a major German film insurance company. 

In view of the growing interest on the part of both national and international insurers and other clients in services providing desktop handling of high-frequency claims, our subsidiary, Gielisch Claims Management (GCM GmbH) is founded in May 2005.

In 2011, our wind energy division is set up. Forming around a core of two expert engineers specialising in wind power technology, our wind energy team surveys damages to wind energy installations.

Over the years, the increasing level of complexity of claims has called for greater specialisation among surveyors and loss adjusters. Today, our company draws from a pool of over 60 surveyors and loss adjusters from the fields of mechanical engineering, industrial engineering, civil engineering, architecture, transportation and logistics, agricultural science, law, fine art, film, media, and the insurance business. In total, C. Gielisch GmbH has about 100 employees. Its subsidiary, Gielisch Claims Management GmbH, has 20 employees.

International network partners

Claus Gielisch is one of the founding members of his first European network, MEP - McLarens European Partners, which was launched in 1992. In 2002, the international 'McLarens European Partners' network disbands, and new partners are included, who thereafter operate worldwide under the new name 'vrsuniverse'. In 2009, 'vrsuniverse' becomes 'vrs Adjusters', again including C. Gielisch GmbH among the founding members, and with Claus Gielisch holding a board position to this day. vrs Adjusters comprises 450 partner offices in 140 countries.

Qualifizierte Schadensexpertise seit drei Generationen

1918-1956 Paul Gielisch

Paul Gielisch ist für den Hamburger Assecuradeur B. Glauerdt als Angestellter tätig und wird 1917 nach Düsseldorf entsandt. Dort stellt er bei der Handelskammer zu Düsseldorf einen Antrag auf Vereidigung als Dispacheur. Am 16.01.1918 erhält er die entsprechende Urkunde. Gleichzeitig wird er am 15.01.1918 vom Verein Hamburger Assecuradeure zum Havariekommissar für Düsseldorf ernannt.

Aufgrund seiner fachlichen Kenntnisse und seiner Berufserfahrung findet er schnell Anerkennung in der Branche und eröffnet noch im selben Jahr sein eigenes Büro. Neben seiner Arbeit als Havariekommissar engagiert sich der junge Mann für die Säuberung des Rheins. Mit seinem eigenem Schiff – der P. Gielisch Düsseldorf – fährt er durch die Fahrrinne und entrümpelt mit Gleichgesinnten den Fluss von Kriegsmaterialien.

In den darauf folgenden Jahren folgen weitere Benennungen zum Havariekommissar oder Dispacheur für Düsseldorf: 

Trotz der wirtschaftlich schwierigen Lage, schafft es Paul Gielisch mit seiner neu gegründeten Firma zu bestehen und baut seine Geschäftskontakte kontinuierlich aus. Ende der dreißiger Jahre steht der Name Paul Gielisch bei den Versicherern als Garant für eine kompetente und fundierte Schadenbearbeitung.

Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs setzt er seine Tätigkeit unbehelligt von den Nationalsozialisten fort. Er ist gefragter Fachmann für alle Schadenfälle, die bei Transporten per Schiff, Bahn oder LKW eintraten. Er recherchiert zu Schadenursachen und kümmert sich um Schadgutverwertung. Außerdem interveniert er bei Schiffskollisionen auf dem Rhein, organisiert Bergungen, erarbeitet und erstellt Dispachen und Expertisen.

Paul Gielisch hat - wie sein Sohn und sein Enkel- ein Faible für Kunst und ist als Gutachter für Schäden an Kunstgegenständen tätig.

Paul Gielisch hat drei Kinder. 1956 übergibt er seinem jüngsten Sohn Carl die Leitung des Unternehmens. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt sind weniger als fünf Mitarbeiter beschäftigt, darunter der Lehrling Hans Riedel.

1956-1990 Carl Gielisch

Carl Gielisch hilft bereits vor Abschluss seines Studiums als Jurist und Maschinenbauer im väterlichen Unternehmen und lernt das Metier von der Pike auf. Am 14.12.1959 wird er vor der Industrie- und Handelskammer vereidigt und als Dispacheur öffentlich bestellt.

Am 01.01.1961 wird Carl Gielisch vom Comité Central des Assureurs Maritimes de France zum Havariekommissar bestellt. Am 15.08.1963 folgt die Bestellung durch den Verein Hamburger Assecuradeure.

In der Unternehmenszentrale in Düsseldorf erhöht Carl Gielisch die Mitarbeiterzahl. Drei Lehrlinge werden ausgebildet. Darunter sind Hans Riedel und Willi Fleischhauer, die über 50 Jahre in der Firma als Havariekommissare für Transportschäden und Schiffskaskoschäden tätig sind. Willi Fleischhauer baut die Abteilung für Schiffskasko aus. Seinem Engagement ist zu verdanken, dass die Sachverständigen der Schiffskasko heute auf allen west- und osteuropäischen Fluss- und Kanalsystemen tätig sind.

1964 wird in Stuttgart die erste Zweigniederlassung gegründet. 1969 folgen Frankfurt am Main und Köln. 1977 wird das Büro München gegründet.

Am 01.08.1983 ernennt der Verein Bremer Seeversicherer e.V. die C. Gielisch GmbH als Havariekommissariat für Düsseldorf. Im August des darauffolgenden Jahres erfolgt die Bestellung zum Havariekommissariat durch Comisariado Español Maritimo, S.A. in Madrid.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Havariekommissar hat Carl Gielisch großes Interesse an Kunst und ist selbst Kunstsammler. Aufgrund dessen wird er für die Begutachtung von Transportschäden an Kunstwerken beauftragt. Daraus entwickeln sich fundierte Kenntnisse, die er im zunehmenden Maß als Sachverständiger für Kunst einsetzt. Carl Gielisch ist in der Kunstszene gut vernetzt und wird bei namhaften Museen und Kunstsammlern tätig. So schafft es das Unternehmen sich im Bereich der Kunst einen internationalen Ruf zu erwerben.

Das wichtigste Geschäftsfeld bleibt aber nach wie vor die Begutachtung von Schiffs- und Transportschäden. Carl Gielisch knüpft Kontakte über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus, insbesondere nach Skandinavien, Frankreich, Belgien, die Niederlande und England.

Carl Gielisch stirbt im April 1990 mit 63 Jahren.

 

 

Seit 1990 – Claus Gielisch

Sein Sohn Claus Gielisch übernimmt mit 32 Jahren die Firmenleitung. Er ist Jurist und arbeitet bereits vor dem Tod seines Vaters als stellvertretender Geschäftsführer in der Firmenniederlassung in München. Dort lernt er in der Praxis das operative Geschäft kennen. 1991 wird Claus Gielisch als Dispacheur vereidigt.

Claus Gielisch tritt in die Fußstapfen seines Vaters und wird international als Sachverständiger für Kunst tätig, 2008 wird er als Kunstsachverständiger von der Industrie- und Handelskammer zu Düsseldorf öffentlich bestellt und vereidigt, 2015 wird die Bestellung um weitere fünf Jahre verlängert. Mit einer weiteren Kunstsachverständigen wird der Kunstbereich 1996 weiter ausgebaut.  

 

Havariekommissariat aus Tradition

Die einzelnen Büros der C. Gielisch GmbH werden über viele Jahre kontinuierlich im In- und Ausland als Havariekommissariate ernannt. Bestehende Ernennungen werden verlängert und sind bis heute gültig:

 

  •  American Institute of Marine Underwriters (AIMU)
  • Comité d’Etudes et de Services des Assureurs Maritimes et Transports (CESAM)
  • Comisariado Español Maritimo (COMISMAR)
  • Verein Hanseatischer Transportversicherer e.V. Hamburg-Bremen (VHT)

Gründung weiterer Niederlassungen

Nach dem Fall der Mauer expandiert Claus Gielisch Richtung Osten. 1989 bis 1993 werden Büros in Berlin, Leipzig, Budapest, Nürnberg, Dresden und Almaty eröffnet. 1997 wird ein weiteres Büro in Hamburg gegründet. 1998 folgt Warschau. In den Jahren 2003 bis 2011 werden unter Führung von Claus Gielisch weitere Büros in Bratislava, Saarbrücken, Gera, Magdeburg, Münster und Hannover eröffnet. 2015 folgt ein Büro in Bremen, Ende 2016 eine weitere Niederlassung in Offenburg. Insgesamt ist die C. Gielisch GmbH heute an 15 Standorten in Deutschland vertreten. Eigene Niederlassungen gibt es in Breslau und Budapest, die Auslandsbüros in Almaty, Bratislava und Warschau wurden geschlossen.

Entstehung neuer Geschäftsfelder

Bis Mitte der 80er Jahre konzentriert sich die C. Gielisch GmbH auf die Geschäftsfelder Schiffskasko, P&I und Transport. Die guten Verbindungen nach England führen Anfang der 90er Jahre zu ersten Beauftragungen aus England für die Begutachtung von Haftplicht- und Sachschäden auf dem deutschen Markt. Daraus entwickeln sich erste Kontakte zu deutschen Auftraggebern. Somit ist der Grundstein für den Aufbau der Geschäftsfelder Haftpflicht- und Sachschaden gelegt, die sich bis Mitte der 90er Jahre zu den tragenden Säulen des Unternehmens entwickeln.

Zeitgleich wird aufgrund der Nachfrage eines namhaften deutschen Filmversicherers der Geschäftsbereich Film, TV, Medien und Event gegründet.

Aufgrund des wachsenden Interesses nationaler und internationaler Versicherer und Firmen an Dienstleistungs-Lösungen für die Desk-Top-Schadenbearbeitung von Frequenzschäden wird im Mai 2000 die Tochtergesellschaft Gielisch Claims Management (GCM GmbH) gegründet.

2011 wird der Geschäftsbereich Windenergie aufgebaut. Zwei Fachingenieure für Windenergietechnik bilden den Kern eines Teams zur Begutachtung von Schäden an Windenergieanlagen.

2016 wird die Gielisch Valuation & Service GmbH gegründet. Unter dem Dach der Gielisch Valuation GmbH sind die Geschäftsbereiche Schiffswertgutachten und Loss Prevention Transport gebündelt.

Die zunehmende Komplexität der Schäden führt im Laufe der Jahre zu einer zunehmenden Spezialisierung der Sachverständigen. Derzeit verfügt das Unternehmen über einen Know-how-Pool von mehr als 60 Sachverständigen aus den Bereichen Maschinenbau, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, Bauwesen, Architektur, Transport und Logistik, Agrarwissenschaften, Rechtswesen, Kunst, Film, Medien und Versicherungswesen. Insgesamt beschäftigt die C. Gielisch GmbH 120 Mitarbeiter. In der Tochtergesellschaft Gielisch Claims Management GmbH sind 20 Mitarbeiter tätig.

 

 

Internationales Netzwerk

Claus Gielisch ist 1992 Mitgründer seines ersten europäischen Netzwerkes MEP – McLarens European Partners. 2002 löst sich das internationale Netzwerk McLarens European Partners auf und firmiert in neuer Zusammensetzung unter „vrsuniverse“, nunmehr weltweit. Aus „vrsuniverse“ wird 2009 „vrs Adjusters“. Erneut ist die C. Gielisch GmbH Gründungsmitglied und bis heute ist Claus Gielisch Vorstandsmitglied. vrs Adjusters vereint 450 Partner-Büros in 140 Ländern.